This post provides a summary of the Goju Ryu grading syllabus for the 6th kyu (green belt) based on the grading syllabus of the International Okinawan Goju-Ryu Karate-Do Federation (IOGKF) and my personal experience.

As every Goju Ryu organization has its own grading requirements and your own dojo may follow a curriculum very different from this one, the following is just for general reference purposes only so that you know what to expect at each grading.

The post covers the following requirements at the 6th kyu (green belt) level:

    Minimum training time

    Generally, you will need to train for at least 4-5 months or 40 sessions since your last grading to be invited to grade to the green belt (6th kyu). You will have trained for at least 13-15 months in total.

    Karate terms

    As with the 7th kyu grading, in addition to the basic vocabulary, you need to remember the Japanese terms for the new techniques that you learn for the 6th kyu grading, including those in your grade kata. For example, you should know the Japanese terms for all the techniques and stances in the Saifa kata.


    Standing basics

    As a general rule, you will be examined on all techniques and kata that you have learned so far up to the current grading.

    At the 6th kyu (green belt) level, you will need to demonstrate the following techniques from the stationary heiko dachi stance:

    • Jodan tsuki (face level punch, aiming at around the jinchu area)
    • Chudan tsuki (middle-level punch, from your chin to suigetsu area)
    • Gedan tsuki (lower level punch between suigetsu and groin)
    • Sanbon tsuki (triple punches: jodan, chudan and gedan tsuki)
    • Ura zuki (middle-level short punch)
    • Age uke (rising block)
    • Yoko uke (block from inside out)
    • Soto uke (block from outside in)
    • Gedan barai (downward sweeping block)
    • Sanbon uke (triple blocks: age ukeyoko uke, and gedan barai)
    • Hiki uke (pulling hand block)
    • Kake uke (hook block)
    • Tora guchi (tiger mouth block, also referred to as mawashi uke)
    • Ura uchi (back fist strike)
    • Hiji ate (elbow strike)
    • Tetsui uchi (hammer fist)
    • Shuto uchi (knife hand strike)
    • Kin geri (groin kick)
    • Mae geri (front kick)
    • Kin geri and mae geri (double kick, same leg)
    • Mawashi geri (roundhouse kick)
    • Kansetsu geri (stamping kick)
    • Yoko geri (side kick)
    • Ushiro geri (back kick).

    From the 6th kyu to 4th kyu levels (green belt to purple belt), you are considered intermediate students and are expected to demonstrate all basic techniques with full speed and power and good focus and ki-ai.

    Moving basics

    You will be required to perform the following moving basics (kihon ido): .

    • Jodan age uke and Jodan gyaku tsuki (moving backward in sanchin dachi stance)
    • Chudan yoko uke and Chudan gyaku tsuki (moving backward in zenkutsu dachi stance)
    • Gedan barai and Chudan gyaku tsuki (moving backward at 45 degree angle into shiko dachi stance and shifting front foot to zenkutsu dachi for the chudan gyaku tsuki)
    • Chudan yoko uke and chudan ura tsuki (moving backward into sanchin dachi stance)
    • Joge uke and Morote tsuki (moving backward into sanchin dachi to perform double block and double punch)
    • Hiji ate and gyaku tsuki (moving forward into zenkutsu dachi and performing elbow strike and reverse punch)
    • Mae geri and chudan kizami tsuki (moving forward into sanchin dachi stance)
    • Mawashi geri and gyaku tsuki (moving forward and landing into zenkutsu dachi stance)
    • Mae geri and mawashi geri (moving forward after each kick and landing into zenkutsu dachi after the last kick, hands in kamae)
    • Kensetsu geri (moving forward and landing into shiko dachi stance).


    For your 6th kyu grading, you are required to perform Gekisai Dai Ichi, Gekisai Dai Ni, and Saifa kata.

    At this level, you are expected to only show the sequence for the Saifa kata but you should demonstrate good form for both Gekisai Dai Ichi and Gekisai Dai Ni kata.

    After learning the two beginner kata, Gekisai Dai Ichi and Gekisai Dai Ni, you are introduced to Saifa which is a short but difficult kata to learn and it will take you many years to master the intricate detail of this kata.

    Saifa (砕破) means ‘to destroy and tear‘. The kata is thought to have originated from white crane kung fu and was brought to Okinawa by Master Kanryo Higaonna.

    Saifa introduces some advanced techniques, including moving off the opponent’s centerline, tearing one from the opponent’s grip, hammer fists and back fist strikes.

    Below are a few demonstrations of the Saifa kata.

    A demonstration of Saifa kata by Tetsuya Furukawa sensei.
    A demonstration of Saifa kata including bunkai explanation by Goju-ryu Hanshi 9th dan, Tsuneo Kinjo sensei.
    This is a demonstration of the Saifa kata by Tetsuji Nakamura sensei, 8th dan and chief instructor of the IOGKF.


    For the 6th kyu grading, you are required to demonstrate bunkai for Gekisai Dai Ichi and Gekisai Dai Ni (both left and right sides and both defense and attack sides).


    Kumite: Sandan Gi number 1 to 4; two-person Gekisai Dai Ichi drill and full contact randori

    At your 6th kyu grading, you are required to perform:


    You are required to demonstrate basic kakie form (sticking hand practice) as well as techniques taken from Gekisai Dai Ichi kata during kakie.

    Ukemi waza

    At the 6th kyu level (green belt), you are required to show intermediate break-fall techniques starting from squatting positions, including:

    • side break-fall from a squatting position (both left and right sides)
    • back break-fall from a squatting position
    • shoulder roll from a squatting position (both left and right sides).


    As mentioned in the previous post of this series, most Goju Ryu dojos include some form of fitness test either at the end or at the beginning of the grading and it will get tougher as you move up the ranks.

    As an example, at the green belt level, you may be required to perform 45 reps of each of the following:

    • push-ups
    • sit-ups
    • crunches
    • air squats
    • star jumps
    • burpees.

    An Overview of the Goju Ryu Karate Belt System

    Goju Ryu Grading Syllabus: White Belt with a Stripe (9th Kyu)

    Goju Ryu Grading Syllabus: Yellow Belt (8th Kyu)

    Goju Ryu Grading Syllabus: Orange Belt (7th Kyu)

    What Is the Purpose of “Chambering” in Karate?

    A Complete List of Goju Ryu Stances


    What to expect when you undergo a EGKA/IOGKF Grading Syllabus

    English Goju Ryu Karate-do Association – Student Handbook

    The IOGKF/EGKA Grading Syllabus Library